The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s “Axis: Bold As Love” comes to Rock Band

Jimi Hendrix
Jimi Hendrix
Harmonix and MTV Games today announced The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s classic album, Axis: Bold As Love, along with the new Jimi Hendrix single, “Valleys of Neptune” from the new album will be added next week to the Rock Band Music Store of downloadable content for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system and Wii™. Additionally, Jimi Hendrix’s music is now exclusive to Rock Band with more songs coming to its industry-leading platform in the future.

Hendrix’s music continues to resonate with music fans everywhere as proven by the long-awaited album of previously unavailable Jimi Hendrix studio recordings, Valleys of Neptune, which debuted last week on the Billboard 200 best-selling albums chart at #4. Moreover, four additional Hendrix catalog titles — Are You Experienced (#44), Electric Ladyland (#60), First Rays of the New Rising Sun (#63), and Axis: Bold As Love (#67) — have returned to the Billboard 200 four decades after their original release dates, a testimony to the enduring vitality and importance of the trailblazing artist-guitarist-performer.

According to the April 2010 Stereophile review of Valleys of Neptune, “Today, [Hendrix’s] music appeals as much to musically wise 17-year-olds as to still-spirited baby boomers.”

With more than 400 artists and 1,100 songs currently available through the Rock Band platform, and 65 million songs sold through its download store alone, Rock Band is the undisputed sales and content leader in the interactive music space, providing the deepest and best selection of artists, songs and albums.
Rock Band DLC Additions for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 System and Wii
The entirety of Axis: Bold As Love will be added next week to the Rock Band Music Store. Axis, The Jimi Hendrix Experience’s iconic second studio album, was released in 1967, and includes the “If 6 Was 9,” “Castles Made of Sand,” “Little Wing” and “Bold As Love.” The songs will be available both as singles and as an album pack. Omitted is the spoken word/sound sculpture opening track “EXP” as it is not suitable for gameplay.

Also available next week is “Valleys of Neptune,” the single from the new album of the same name, which was released March 9 on Legacy Recordings and features never before commercially released recordings. Legacy will also release this year deluxe CD/DVD editions of several of Hendrix’s most iconic albums, including Axis: Bold As Love
These 13 tracks join Hendrix’s “Fire,” which is already available on-disc for LEGO® Rock Band.

“Much like Jimi’s music, we feel that Rock Band represents an amazing, innovative medium for music discovery and interactionthat can have a profound affect on those who experience it,” said Janie Hendrix, CEO of Experience Hendrix LLC. “We are extremely pleased to be able to have Jimi Hendrix’s genius musical legacy continue to live on and touch people the world over through Rock Band.”

“Harmonix and MTV are honored to have the opportunity to bring Jimi Hendrix’s epic music to the Rock Band platform,” said Paul DeGooyer, SVP, Electronic Games and Music, MTV. “We’re delighted to be working with Experience Hendrix and Legacy to help ensure that a new generation of fans have the chance to discover these incredible songs and albums for themselves, in the most engaging and impactful way possible.”

Seattle-born rock icon Jimi Hendrix is recognized by many as one of the most creative and influential musicians of the 20th Century. Hendrix is a member of the U.S. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the UK Music Hall of Fame, has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, was named by Rolling Stone as the No. 1 guitarist of all time, and was the first inductee to the Native American Hall of Fame.

Available on Xbox 360 and Wii (March 30) and PlayStation 3 system (April 1):

· “Up From the Skies”

· “Spanish Castle Magic” +

· “Wait Until Tomorrow” +

· “Ain’t No Telling” +

· “Little Wing” +

· “If 6 Was 9” +

· “You Got Me Floatin’” +

· “Castles Made of Sand”

· “She’s So Fine” +

· “One Rainy Wish” +

· “Little Miss Lover”

· “Bold As Love” +

· “Valleys of Neptune”

(All tracks are original master recordings)

(Tracks marked with “+” are also available for download in the family-friendly LEGO® Rock Band Music Store.)

These tracks will be available for purchase as the “Axis: Bold As Love Album” pack, as well as individual tracks on Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 system and as individual tracks only on Wii.






Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.