Fabolous to release “Loso’s Way”


Fabolous - "Loso's Way"After nearly one full decade at the absolute pinnacle of the rap game, Desert Storm/Def Jam artist Fabolous will deliver the most personal, confessional album of his career when LOSO’S WAY arrives in the physical and digital marketplace on June 30th. The new album provides an intimate glimpse into the rise of the Brooklyn-born rapper, one of today’s most important and controversial players, exploring the perils that come with managing the transition from a street life to one of legitimacy.

Underscoring the autobiographical portrait of LOSO’S WAY is Fab’s first long-form video project, a 30-minute film to be released in conjunction with the album. Several trailers from the film have been released, creating a huge buzz for the project online. Known for keeping his personal life separate from his rap career, Fab was inspired by Carlito’s Way (Al Pacino), as he told SOHH.com recently: “I think we had some similarities. Carlito was a street dude trying to make the transition from the streets to something better. That’s where I felt I was at….transitioning from the streets to a hip-hop artist.”

In advance of LOSO’S WAY, two singles are building simultaneously at radio: “Throw It In The Bag” featuring fellow Def Jam artist The-Dream (produced by Tricky Stewart) was #1 Most-Added at Rhythm formats; and “It’s My Time” featuring brand new Def Jam artist Jeremih (produced by the Runners) is currently exploding at the Urban format. Videos for both singles premiered across multiple MTV channels last week. Fabolous will be performing with Ne-Yo at the BET Awards in Los Angeles on June 28th.

The initial track sequence for LOSO’S WAY (followed by producer credits) comprises:

1. The Way “Intro” Produced by Streetrunner
2. Feel Like I’m Back – Produced by Justice League
3. My Time feat Jeremih Produced by The Runners
4. Imma Do It featuring Kobe Produced by Khalil
5. Everything, Everyday, Everywhere feat Keri Hilson – Produced by Ryan Leslie
6. Throw It In The Bag feat The Dream – Produced by Tricky
7. When The Money Goes – Remix feat Jay-Z Produced by Jermaine Dupri
8. Salute feat Lil Wayne – Produced by Miguel
9. There He Go Featuring Paul Cain, Red Café and Freck Billionaire– Produced by THE BLACKOUT MOVEMENT
10. The Fabolous Life feat Ryan Leslie – Produced by Ryan Leslie
11. Makin Love feat Ne-Yo – Produced by Jermaine Dupri
12. Last Time feat Trey Songz – Produced by Jermaine Dupri
13. Stay feat Marsha Ambrosius Produced by Syience
14. Pachanga Produced by Sid V
15. Lullaby Produced by Alchemist
16. Never Let It Go Featuring Keys Produced by Khalil
17. I Miss My Love Produced by Sean C. and L.V.

LOSO’S WAY is the long-awaited follow-up to From Nothing To Something, Fab’s RIAA gold Def Jam debut album (released June 2007), his first album in nearly three years at the time of its release. From Nothin To Somethin gave Fabolous the first #1 debuts of his career on Billboard’s Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and Top Rap Albums charts, on the strength of two advance singles: “Diamonds” featuring Def Jam artist Young Jeezy (produced by Steve Morales); and the RIAA platinum #1 rap/R&B/pop crossover smash “Make Me Better” featuring Def Jam artist Ne-Yo (produced by Timbaland), which made history when it took over the #1 Urban spot from fellow Def Jam artist Rihanna’s “Umbrella” back in 2007.

Background: Starting in 2001, Bed-Stuy’s Fabolous (John Jackson) was featured on several singles and album tracks, most notably Lil’ Mo’s Top 10 crossover hit “Superwoman.” Fab’s singles chart debut happened that summer with his career-defining “Can’t Deny It,” featur­ing Nate Dogg, on Desert Storm (via Elektra’s East-West division). It was followed by the second solid pop/R&B/rap crossover “Young’n (Holla Back),” both from the nearly self-titled debut album Ghetto Fabolous (one of the fateful albums to be released Sept. 11, 2001), which reached #2 R&B and #4 pop, and was certified RIAA platinum.

In early-2002, the Barbershop movie soundtrack album spun off a new Top 20 hit by Fabolous, “Trade It All” (featuring P. Diddy and Jagged Edge). The track was later added as a bonus track on Street Dreams, Fab’s second Desert Storm album, released March 2003. The platinum album also contained the massive Top 5 hits “Can’t Let You Go” (featuring Lil’ Mo and Desert Storm’s Mike Shorey) and “Into You” (featuring Tamia). The subsequent mixtape released in November, More Street Dreams Pt. 2, climbed to Top 10 R&B and Top 30 pop.

Fab’s final entry for the label was his third album, Real Talk (November 2004). The RIAA gold album rose to #2 on the R&B and rap charts, and #6 on the pop side in the wake of its breakout first single, “Breathe,” which crossed from #2 rap and #4 R&B to Top 10 pop. After more than two and a half years, Fab returned with From Nothin To Somethin, igniting the next phase of his career at Def Jam Recordings.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.