Doves announce new studio album “Kingdom of Rust” to release on April 7th

Acclaimed British trio the Doves will release their much anticipated new studio album, Kingdom of Rust (Astralwerks Records) on April 7th, 2009. Kingdom of Rust is the Dove’s 4th studio album, their first since Some Cities debuted at # 1 on the U.K. album charts in February, 2005. The Doves, comprised of Jez Williams, Andy Williams and Jimi Goodwin are offering fans a sneak peak by offering album track “Jetstream” as a free download for two weeks on their website A U.S. tour is expected to hit stateside in late spring.


Kingdom of Rust which is already being heralded by NME as 1 of the 10 most important albums of 2009 is the Dove’s most sonically adventurous, intimate, cerebral, propulsive album to date. The trio has been recording the album for the past 18 months, having ensconced themselves to a farm house-come-studio in backwaters of Cheshire, England. They teamed up with long time Doves collaborator Dan Austin to co produce all but 2 tracks of Kingdom Of Rust. For the remaining 2 tracks; “10.03” and “Winter Hill,” the group worked with ace producer John Leckie (Stone Roses, Radiohead).

The free download “Jetstream” is a stomping Doves classic in waiting. Fitted with a propulsive krautrock motorik, it inherits the bands dance DNA from their former Sub Sub extraction. It is with a searing intensity and the kind of brooding melancholic refrain that has become the Doves trademark that “Jetstream” blazes the trail for a new a new direction while simultaneously bearing all the hallmarks of an all time Doves classic.

For more information on the Doves and free download, please visit

Kingdom of Rust
Track Listing:

1. Jetstream
2. Kingdom of Rust
3. The Outsiders
4. Winter Hill
5. 10.03
6. The Greatest Denier
7. Birds Flew Backwards
8. Spellbound
9. Compulsion
10. House of Mirrors
11. Lifelines






Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.