Goldfrapp to release special edition of “Seventh Tree”


Mute Records plans to release a special edition of Goldfrapp’s acclaimed album Seventh Tree. Due in the U.S. on November 25, the special edition features DVD footage, new artwork and additional photos. The DVD contains videos for “Happiness,” “A&E” and “Caravan Girl,” televised performances of “Clowns” and “Road to Somewhere,” a variety of live tracks from Goldfrapp’s June 21 performance at De La Warr Pavilion in Bexhill-on-sea, as well as exclusive backstage footage from the show. Released earlier this year on Mute Records, Seventh Tree went Gold its first week of release in the U.K. and has received immense praise from the likes of People, The New York Times, Harper’s Bazaar, Details, USA Today, Entertainment Weekly and more. Rolling Stone declares that the album is “a cinematic experience” and Marie Claire gushes that it’s “resolutely dreamy…perfect pop.”

In addition to Seventh Tree, Goldfrapp’s iTunes Originals Session was released on September 30, and is available for download. The digital package includes newly recorded versions laid down at New York City’s Electric Lady Studios of longtime Goldfrapp favorites “Strict Machine,” “Ooh La La,” and “Paper Bag” and Seventh Tree songs such as “Eat Yourself,” “Road To Somewhere” and “Little Bird.” The package also features selected album tracks from the full Goldfrapp catalog as well as commentary and anecdotes from the band

Goldfrapp recently wrapped up a brief U.S. tour featuring a headlining show at Radio City Music Hall which received great reviews, with Bust Magazine saying they were “overwhelmed by the electro-glam rock, psych pop genius known as Goldfrapp,” and New York Magazine praising Alison Goldfrapp’s voice, which “zigzagged impressively from electro-sultriness to Nick Drake delicacy.”
Earlier this year Goldfrapp performed at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, on the “Late Show with Jay Leno,” on KCRW’s “Morning Becomes Eclectic” and on NPR’s “World Café.” In June, “Good Morning America” featured the video for Seventh Tree’s first single “Happiness” followed by rotation at VH1.

Furthermore Goldfrapp’s latest digital EP Caravan Girl is now available. The EP features the “Caravan Girl” album cut, a live choral version, a live acoustic version of “Monster Love” and an Animal Collective remix of the song “Little Bird.”

Goldfrapp are Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory. Their debut album Felt Mountain was released in 2000 to widespread acclaim and was shortlisted for the prestigious Mercury Prize in 2001. Goldfrapp’s second album Black Cherry followed in 2003 and marked a stylistic departure from its predecessor. In 2005, Goldfrapp returned with the critically-acclaimed and Grammy-nominated album Supernature.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.