Iron Maiden release information and tour dates

iron maiden

Iron Maiden have prevailed over the world of heavy metal for almost thirty years, and without a doubt, they are also one of the most contemporary and exciting bands of the 21st century. And in their defiant spirit of overturning convention – from flying their own plane around the world on a record-breaking tour to selling over 70 million albums worldwide without mainstream radio or TV support – today Iron Maiden announce a revolutionary new way of delivering music to their fans. This is the first promotion of its kind.

In an unprecedented move to let younger fans hear, understand and appreciate the quality of these recordings, on May 13, New Door Records/UME launch the unique “SOMEWHERE BEST IN SOUND” campaign whereby the curious/adventurous can download the entire album SOMEWHERE BACK IN TIME without charge as a high quality WMA audio file, which is a typically powerful 320 kbps. Fans will then be able to listen to the entire album at their leisure-three times before the download expires. The listener is then given a simple option to upgrade and purchase the album as a full download.

With the overwhelming success of the current “Somewhere Back In Time World Tour ’08,” and their recently released platinum-selling DVD Live After Death, UMe is proud to release SOMEWHERE BACK IN TIME on May 13 on CD charting the first decade of the band’s extraordinary career. The album celebrates the essence of the current tour by featuring most of the essential tracks from the band’s first seven studio albums and one live album, recorded between 1980 and 1989, and also is aptly titled SOMEWHERE BACK IN TIME (full track-listing below).

Manager Rod Smallwood explains the thinking behind this innovative move:

“Maiden have a huge catalog that is highly treasured by fans and media alike. However, we recognize that our ever-increasing fan base is very young and can’t be expected to know all the earlier albums, which is why we have put this collection together for them. Many of our fans weren’t even born when the original albums were first released, although amazingly they seem to know all the lyrics when they sing along with the band at our concerts! We also recognize that ‘albums’ as such have become unfashionable to many over recent years with TV-generated pop artists stringing a couple of ‘hit’ singles together with filler tracks and releasing them as a quick fill album which disappoints and quickly becomes dated. So this is both an introduction to the band’s recording history and a chance for young fans to try a full-length Maiden album and realize they’re getting the real deal!

“We wanted to give the kids of today a fair chance of hearing the music as we would have first heard and experienced it in our day when checking it out in a record shop-
top quality sound, in their own time and in an environment of their own choosing so they are able to absorb the depth and worth of the music and lyrics that make Iron Maiden the phenomenon they are. What better way to use modern means and a very high quality download! Sadly, the WMA (Windows Media Audio) isn’t compatible with Macs or iPods, but we are confident that our young fans are adept and fluent with modern technology and we will post simple instructions on our website for any that need guidance.”

On the heels of their record-breaking world tour, the band’s Website,, has received over 8,000,000 hits and more than 1.5 million visitors for just last month alone.

The full track-listing for the album Somewhere Back In Time is as follows:

1. Churchill Speech (0.49)
2. Aces High (4.36)
3. 2 Minutes To Midnight (6.00)
4. The Trooper (4.11)
5. Wasted Years (5.06)
6. Children Of The Damned (4.35)
7. The Number of The Beast (4.53)
8. Run To The Hills (3.53)
9. Phantom Of The Opera – Live (7.21)
10. The Evil That Men Do (4.34)
11. Wrathchild – Live (3.07)
12. Can I Play With Madness (3.31)
13. Powerslave (6.47)
14. Hallowed Be Thy Name (7.12)
15. Iron Maiden – Live (4.50)

SOMEWHERE BACK IN TIME – WORLD TOUR 08′ USA TOUR DATES: (International dates can be found on
Shows already announced and on sale :-
Wed – 5/21/08 San Antonio, TX – Verizon Wireless
Thu – 5/22/08 Houston, TX – Woodlands
Sun – 5/25/08 Albuquerque, NM – Journal Pavilion
Mon – 5/26/08 Phoenix, AZ – Cricket Pavilion
Wed – 5/28/08 Concord, CA – Concord
Fri – 5/30/08 Los Angeles, CA – Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
Sat – 5/31/08 Los Angeles, CA – Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
Mon – 6/2/08 Seattle, WA – White River Amphitheatre
Wed – 6/11/08 Rosemont, IL – *Allstate Arena
Thur – 6/12/08 Cuyahoga Falls, OH – Blossom Music Center
Sat – 6/14/08 Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center
Sun – 6/15/08 New York, NY – *Madison Square Gardens
Tues – 6/17/08 Camden, NJ – Susquehanna Bank Centre
Wed – 6/18/08 Columbia, MD – Merriweather Post Pavilion
Fri – 6/20/08 Mansfield, MA – Tweeter Center for The Peforming Arts





One response to “Iron Maiden release information and tour dates”

  1. Kerry Avatar

    iron maiden…. hm…. I love this band and this song too! they’re insane! true rock to the max.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.